

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4588 • BoardInfo@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4484 llr.sc.gov/cosmo

Instructor License Requirements and Application Process Overview

Before calling in to the Board Office – You may check your application status online at: https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage.

Licensure by Endorsement Requirements:

A person is qualified to receive an instructor license by endorsement when the following requirements are met:

- **1.** Meet one of the following requirements:
 - Actively licensed as an instructor in another state <u>and</u> passed the <u>National-Interstate</u> <u>Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC)</u> theory and practical examination, <u>or</u>
 - Actively licensed as a Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or Nail Technician license for two (2) years or more, completed instructor training equivalent to the below requirements, <u>and</u> the <u>National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC)</u> theory and practical examination.

Licensure by Examination Requirements:

A person is qualified to receive an instructor license by examination when the following requirements are met:

- **1.** Have graduated high school or hold certificate of equivalency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
- **2.** Has one of the following:
 - Holds an active, in good standing Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or Nail Technician license for two (2) years or more, <u>or</u>
 - Holds an active, in good standing Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or Nail Technician license for less than two (2) years **and** completed 750 hours of student instructor training
 - Actively licensed in another state, less than two (2) years.
- **3.** Completed 45 hours of Board approved training in teaching methods
- **4.** Successfully pass the <u>National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC)</u> theory and practical examination

Application Process:

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

1. Application – In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:

• Application Fee: \$45 application fee made out to SC Board of Cosmetology. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.

• Identification:

- Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, or Passport
- Copy of signed Social Security Card
- Education: High school diploma, GED Certification, college diploma or transcript. Official college transcripts must be sent directly to the Commission office from the school. If the school is no longer in existence, contact the State Education Department for records.

Non-US education will need to be evaluated. It is the responsibility of the applicate to get transcripts evaluated. There are two national association of credential evaluation services used by the US government: National Association of Credential Evaluation Services and Association of International Credentials Evaluators.

- <u>Teaching Methods Education</u>: Copy of a certificate of completion, diploma, or transcript from a Board-approved school showing total hours completed.
- Student Instructor Training Affidavit: Applicable to applicants licensed less than 2 years.
- Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence
- <u>Immigration Documentation:</u> Copy of current immigration documents listed on page
 2 of the Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence
- Legal documentation of name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
- Personal History Questions: For any "Yes" answers in the Personal History Information, a written explanation must be provided. Additional information may be requested by the Commission Office or an appearance before the Commission may be necessary.
- Background Check: If you have been convicted, pled guilty, or nolo contendere to a felony, you will need to submit a statewide criminal background check from the state's law enforcement agency where the crime took place. South Carolina residents must use www.sled.sc.gov. Reports must not be older than thirty (30) days from the date of application.
- 2. Documents should be sent directly to the Board from the issuing agency/institution.
 - <u>Verification of Licensure</u>: Contact each state jurisdiction you are currently or have previously been licensed with and have the certificate of licensure sent directly to the Board office via email at boardinfo@llr.sc.gov or mail.

3. Examination: Once a completed application has been received and approved, applicants will be authorized to take the examination, *if applicable*. The examination is administered by PSI Testing Service. Applicants will not be authorized to take the exam until a complete application is on file.

Applicants will receive notification from PSI when they are authorized to register for the examination. Applicants are responsible for registering and scheduling with PSI. The examination registration fee is to be paid directly to PSI upon registration.

Exam eligible applicants are encouraged to review the Board's Examination page at https://llr.sc.gov/cosmo/examins.aspx.

PSI will send examination score reports directly to the Board office. Please do not send your score report to the Board office.

4. Licensure: Upon receipt of passed examination from PSI or approval of endorsement application, the Board will issue the license. Licensees may validate license status on the Licensee Lookup Systems,

https://verify.llronline.com/LicLookup/Cosmo/Cosmo.aspx?div=23.